I Like John Mayer?

Big Sur, California

Big Sur, California

At some point around the release of “Waiting On The World To Change” my viewpoint of John Mayer changed.  I still can’t stand his earlier work, but since then I have steadily enjoyed his latest releases more and more.  No longer do I feel that he qualifies as ‘Dave Matthews Light”.

His latest album, “Born and Raised”, is a pleasant listen.  It harkens to classic laid back Southern California rock.  The songs are not heavy on electric guitar, but instead utilize soothing acoustic sounds.  A few of the songs even have a taste of “Nashville” Dylan.  “Shadow Days” is the first single off the record.  It features a catchy, almost timeless guitar riff.  Other favorites for me include “Queen of California” and “Something Like Olivia”.  Each song on the album is worth a listen.  My opinion may change but upon first listening I highly enjoyed “Born and Raised” as one of the best of the year so far.

4/5

Leave a comment