RSS Feed

Meet the new boss, same (kinda, sorta) as the old boss!

Logo of the fictitious Dunder Mifflin paper co...

Image via Wikipedia

Credit The Who for my post title, great song, bad story decision for The Office.  With the departure of Steve Carell last season, speculation arose as to who would be the new manager of Dunder Mifflin, Scranton.  In the first episode of the season viewers learned that Andy Bernard (Ed Helms) is now in charge.  I love the addition of James Spader as Robert California, but Helms as the new manager is basically a mirror image of Carell as Michael Scott.  I was really hoping for a different perspective from the manager character in the upcoming season.  After just one episode, it’s uncertain how Helms will evolve Andy into his new position of authority, I hope that the writers will find the proper tone for Andy Bernard as boss.

Spader always gives a great performance, but the Jedi-like mind tricks of his character will quickly become tiresome over the season.  Much like the case of writers finding a voice for Bernard, I hope the character of Robert California will develop more depth and ensure Spader’s continuation as a series regular.  I still miss Boston Legal, the chemistry between Spader and William Shatner is one of the greatest relationships on camera, I think a story with Spader and John Krasinski working together would be highly enjoyable as well.  With each new season there is renewed optimism, here’s hoping The Office can reinvigorate the series and produce smart, entertaining television once again.

What do you think of Helms as the new boss?

One response »

  1. First Oprah quits. Then Steve Carell. Then All My Children is canceled, meaning no more Susan Lucci. Now Regis is set to depart in November. I am so depressed. I’m beginning to think being gay isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Oops! Sorry, I thought this was oprah.com
    My bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

